Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
October 16 2014 4 16 /10 /October /2014 22:31

It grieves a Mother's heart the most to nudge them from the nest,

since for a very many years to keep them IN seemed best!

And though she knows the day must come, and that it's for their good,

still it's so hard to urge them on, the way she knows she should.

 

For even though they're all grown up, and childhood years have flown,

She really can't imagine life without them when they're gone.

But for their sakes, she braves the course, and fans wind to their wings,

and picks up all the pieces left by breaking those heart-strings.

 

She looks about her empty nest, not sure yet what to do,

Yet she believes God has a plan, to use her 'til she's through.

So she must find the strength to run what's left of her life's race,

And day by day, and hour by hour, she cries out for His grace.

 

Then one glad day, a miracle, an overwhelming peace,

when, quite unexpectedly, comes blessed, sweet, release.

A knowing that He has them tight, and will not let them go,

A knowing that she's done her best, a sense that they will know.

 

And from that place of quiet rest a revelation true,

God really does know what is best, for them, as well as you!

Then after rest, a reassignment, from the throne will come,

keep working, daughter, 'til the day your Father calls you home!

 

A monument to love and life, that is an empty nest,

a clear reminder from our God - He does know what is best.

Eventually the pain subsides, as each one finds their part,

An empty nest can never touch an overflowing heart!

 

 

SCD 10/15/18

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Overview

  • : SELAH Jubilee Lady Writes 4 Shalom
  • : I love to write, all about life, and what is going on in it. And about the Beloved Creator, Who sponsored it! I hope to intrigue and inspire.
  • Contact

Profile

  • Sandra Carlton Duncan
  • I am a devoted follower of Yeshua, the Messiah. I have been married to Gene Duncan II for 37  years, and counting. I have 7 children, 3 boys & 4 girls - all grown up. They have been home educated, K-12. I also write, hence the blog  (including, but not limited to: children's books, poems, and personal growth art. ) Please stay tuned as I share my personal journey through poems and writing.
  • I am a devoted follower of Yeshua, the Messiah. I have been married to Gene Duncan II for 37 years, and counting. I have 7 children, 3 boys & 4 girls - all grown up. They have been home educated, K-12. I also write, hence the blog (including, but not limited to: children's books, poems, and personal growth art. ) Please stay tuned as I share my personal journey through poems and writing.

Links